Classical Jazz 2005: Home

    Welcome To The Hambletonian Society     (609) 371-2211

                              2014 Hambletonian Memories  
   Trixton strides to victory for trainer Jimmy Takter in the 2014 Hambletonian

Aug. 8, 2014~Hambletonian Wrap Up~Tradition and Innovation Blend Smoothly
The young hipsters dressed to the nines sipping cocktails while lounging on rooftop patio furniturewas the first indication this was not your granddaddy’s Hambletonian. That it was a surprisingly pleasant overcast August afternoon, and not a sauna, was another. In the end, the track belonged to imported Swedes — Jimmy Takter and Ake Svanstedt, especially — along with Ron Burke, of course. But the day? That belonged to the gleaming new $88 million grandstand that thrummed with youthful energy and passed its first big test with aplomb.  To read the rest of this story, CLICK HERE

                    Trixton takes a well-deserved drink of water from the 
                    Hambletonian Trophy.

      The connections of Trixton celebrate in The Meadowland's winner's
       circle after the sophomore colt's brilliant victory in the 2014 Hambletonian.

             2014 Hambo Start
              The start of the 2014 Hambletonian at The Meadowlands sees
               favorite Father Patrick (#10) break stride behind the gate.

 Trixton overtakes stablemate Nuncio in The Meadowlands stretch in the final
 quarter mile of the 2014 Hambletonian.
August 2, 2014~Takter Steers Trixton to Hambletonian Victory

                              Trixton & driver-trainer Jimmy Takter
Trainer Jimmy Takter
steered Trixton to win the $1,006,125 Hambletonian at The Meadowlands in 1:50.3, the second fastest Hambletonian in history. 

"This is something that you always dream about," Takter said. "It's different when you do it yourself and participate in every level of the sport.  It will take awhile to absorb all of this."

Trixton, a 3-year-old son of Muscle Hill and a $360,000 yearling, notched his seventh seasonal victory and his eleventh career victory in a new top mark, besting stablemate Nuncio by a length at the wire.

"I don't want to take anything away from Trixton or Nuncio, but in my opinion Father Patrick is still the best of the three," Takter said. "I've handled these horses every day in my barn, and there's so much that goes into making my team successful."

After Takter's 4-5 favorite Father Patrick went off stride at the start, it was anyone's race as driver John Campbell took the other Takter trainee--Nuncio--to the lead, keeping that spot until overtake by his stablemate in the lane.

Nuncio finished second with Harper Blue Chip (Brain Sears) third and Il Sogno Dream (Aaron Merriman) fourth.  Fractional times were :26.3, :54 and 1:23.
August 2, 2014~ Lifetime Pursuit wins the Hambletonian Oaks in 1:50.4 
Lifetime Pursuit
gave Yannick Gingras his first Hambletonian Oaks victory and trainer Jimmy Takter his fourth Oaks win on Saturday afternoon at The Meadowlands. After getting a perfect pocket trip behind the pacesetting Shake It Cerry (Ron Pierce), LIfetime Pursuit shook loose in the lane to prevail in a world record 1:50.4. 

"She was awesome today and the trip worked out well," Gingras said. "She always has speed, but was even better today."

The 3-year-old daughter of Cantab Hall-Queen Of Grace-Yankee Glide nothced her third win of the season and her ninth lifetime victory for owner-breeder Brittany Farm of Versailles, KY. The win gave Gingras his fourth on the Hambletonian Day program.

"She's been flying a little bit on the radar and has finished second to Shake It Cerry a lot, but I felt good about her coming into this race," said Takter. "We made a couple of changes with her and it worked out."

Designed To Be (Brian Sears) finished second, Take The Money (Dave Palone) third and Shake It Cerry finished fourth.   Fractional times were :26.3, :55.1 and 1:23.2.


Ticket info - call 800-555-1212